Directory

Ronald Askin

Ronald Askin
Professor

Research interests
Logistics, manufacturing systems analysis, production planning and scheduling, operations research, applied statistics

Ron.Askin@asu.edu
(480) 965-2567
Tempe campus, BYENG 548

Janaka Balasooriya

Janaka Balasooriya
Senior Lecturer

Research interests 
Distributed, internet and grid computing, web service coordination primitives and system architectures, biological data integration and interoperability, middleware and embedded software

Janaka.Balasooriya@asu.edu
(480) 727-8593
Tempe campus, BYENG 578

Ayan Banerjee

Ayan Banerjee
Assistant Research Professor

Research interests
Power management in high performance data centers, cyber physical systems, medical control systems, data mining, mobile computing

Ayan.Banerjee@asu.edu 
Tempe campus, BYENG 517

Ajay Bansal

Ajay Bansal
Assistant Professor

Research interests
Logic programming, constraint programming, answer set programming, data mining, machine learning, semantic computing, service-oriented architecture.

Ajay.Bansal@asu.edu
(480) 727-1647
Polytechnic campus, PRLTA 230V
Research website

Srividya Bansal

Srividya Bansal
Associate Professor
Program Chair, Software Engineering

Research interests
Semantic computing, big data integration, semantics-based solutions for outcome-based instruction design in STEM education, delivery models for software engineering education; web service description, discovery and composition.

Srividya.Bansal@asu.edu
(480) 727-5107
Polytechnic campus, PRLTA 230G
Research website

Chitta Baral

Chitta Baral
Professor
Graduate Program Chair, Computer Science

Research interests
Knowledge representation, temporal logics, logic programming, dynamic systems, text extraction, question answering, natural language semantics, bioinformatics

Chitta.Baral@asu.edu
(480) 727-6047
Tempe campus, BYENG 572
Research website

Dimitri Bertsekas

Dimitri Bertsekas

Dimitri Bertsekas
Fulton Chair of Computational Decision Making

Research interests
Reinforcement learning, artificial intelligence, optimization, linear and nonlinear programming, data communication networks, parallel and distributed computation

Chris Bryan

Chris Bryan
Assistant Professor

Research interests
Information visualization, visual analytics, virtual reality, data storytelling, data analysis, explainable machine learning and artificial intelligence; perception and cognition, human-computer Interaction, data privacy and security

Ariane Both

Ariane Both
Student Services Coordinator Associate

Focus
ASU Online campus
Advising support staff

Kevin Burger

Kevin Burger
Lecturer

Research interests
Embedded systems, introductory programming, data structures and algorithms, computer architecture and organization, web development

Burgerk@asu.edu
(480) 965-1493
Tempe campus, BYENG 516

Michael Clough

Michael Clough
Lecturer

Research interests
Measurement of nano/microscale mechanisms underlying thermofluidic and interfacial phenomena for design of nanoengineered solutions that enhance macroscale performance of a variety of industrial applications including energy systems, thermal desalination, and transportation systems.

Mclough@asu.edu
(480) 965-2804
Tempe campus, BYENG 480

Adolfo Escobedo

Adolfo Escobedo
Assistant Professor

Research interests
Theory and application of linear and mixed integer programming; design, analysis, and efficient implementation of optimization algorithms; computational linear algebra; power systems operation and planning; circular economy.

Adres@asu.edu
(480) 965-5248
Tempe campus, BYENG 346

Georgios Fainekos

Georgios Fainekos
Associate Professor

Research interests
Cyber-physical systems: hybrid dynamical systems, real-time and embedded systems, formal methods with applications to automation & control: system testing and verification, formal languages and logic, motion planning in robotics, unmanned aerial vehicles (UAV)

Fainekos@asu.edu
(480) 965-8267
Tempe campus, CTRPT 203-17
Research website

Xuerong Feng

Xuerong Feng
Senior Lecturer

Research interests
Algorithm design and analysis, including network algorithms, Bioinformatics algorithms and parallel algorithms

Xuerong.Feng@asu.edu
(480) 965-2855
Tempe campus, BYENG 512

Aubrey Fox

Aubrey Fox
Academic Success Advisor, Sr.

Focus
Polytechnic campus
ASU Online campus
Undergraduate advising

Kevin Gary

Kevin Gary
Associate Professor

Research interests
Software architecture and design, open source software, agile methods, applications in healthcare and e-learning.

Kgary@asu.edu
(480) 727-1373
Polytechnic campus, PRLTA 230C

Kirk Hagen

Kirk Hagen
Academic Success Advisor Sr.

Focus
Polytechnic campus
ASU Online campus
Undergraduate advising

Yoshihiro Kobayashi

Yoshihiro Kobayashi
Senior Lecturer

Research interests
Game design, game development, digital fabrication, AI in design, virtual reality, building information modeling, procedural modeling, computer graphics, PRISM Lab at ASU

Ykobaya@asu.edu
(480) 965-3708
Tempe campus, BYENG 354

Kelli Kreger

Kelli Kreger
Executive Administrative Support Specialist

Kelli.Kreger@asu.edu
(480) 965-8244
Tempe campus

Sue Lafond

Sue Lafond

Sue Lafond
Academic Success Advising Coordinator Sr.

Focus
Tempe campus
Undergraduate advising
NEST/SOAR focus

Joohyung Lee

Joohyung Lee
Associate Professor

Research interests
Knowledge representation and reasoning, computational logic, logic programming, logics in security, computational semantics of natural language

Joolee@asu.edu
(480) 965-2784
Tempe campus, BYENG 586
Research website

Yann-Hang Lee

Yann-Hang Lee
Professor

Research interests
Real-time computing, internet of things (IoT), embedded system and software, fault-tolerant computing, distributed computing, service-oriented computing, performance evaluation

Yhlee@asu.edu
(480) 727-7507
Tempe campus, CTRPT 203-23
Research website

Baoxin Li

Baoxin Li
Professor
Undergraduate Program Chair, Computer Science and Engineering

Research interests
Computer vision and pattern recognition, image/video processing, statistical methods in visual computing, machine learning

Baoxin.Li@asu.edu
(480) 965-1735
Tempe campus, BYENG 502
Research website

Tim Lindquist

Tim Lindquist
Professor Emeritus

Research interests
Software engineering, distributed and mobile systems, web applications and programming languages

Tim.Lindquist@asu.edu
(480) 727-2783
Polytechnic campus, PRLTA 230
Research website

Ryan Meuth

Ryan Meuth
Lecturer

Research interests
Examining ways to improve engineering education, in particular the first year engineering experience

Rmeuth@asu.edu
(480) 727-6389
Tempe campus, BYENG 438

Katina Michael

Katina Michael
Professor
Joint appointment with School for the Future of Innovation in Society

Research interests
Emerging technologies, innovation, informatics, technology and society, policy and society, ubiquitous computing, digital media, wearable computing, embedded devices, big data, open data, drones, cybersecurity, IoT, robotics, automation

 

Katina.Michael@asu.edu
(480) 965-6316
Tempe campus

Ariane Middel

Ariane Middel

Ariane Middel
Assistant Professor
Joint appointment with School of Arts, Media and Engineering

Research interests
Urban climate, heat mitigation, thermal comfort, human biometeorology, modeling and simulation, microclimate, local climate, climate-sensitive urban design, climate adaptation and mitigation, urban heat islands, urban climate informatics, geographic information systems, human-environment interaction, land use and land cover, sustainability, geovisualization

Ariane.Middel@asu.edu
(480) 967-2875
Tempe campus

Pitu Mirchandani

Pitu Mirchandani
Professor, The Avnet Chair in Supply Chain Networks

Research interests
Optimization, decision-making under uncertainty, real-time control and logistics, application interests in urban service systems, transportation, and homeland security

Pitu@asu.edu
(480) 965-2758
Tempe campus, BYENG 332
Advanced Transportation and Logistics: Algorithms and Systems (ATLAS) Research Laboratory

Rong Pan

Rong Pan
Associate Professor

Research interests
Industrial statistics, reliability analysis and time series modeling

Rong.Pan@asu.edu
(480) 965-4259
Tempe campus, BYENG 352

Ted Pavlic

Ted Pavlic
Assistant Professor

Research interests
Distributed algorithms, autonomous systems, decentralized decision making, complex adaptive systems, self organization, hybrid dynamical systems, sustainability in the built environment, behavioral ecology, behavioral economics, operations research, bio-mimicry and bio-inspiration, parallel computation, robotics,energy systems, intelligent control, optimization, game theory, resource allocation, collective behavior

Tpavlic@asu.edu
(480) 965-2899
Tempe campus, BYENG 314
Research website

Fengbo Ren

Fengbo Ren
Associate Professor

Research interests
Hardware acceleration, embedded, reconfigurable, and parallel computing solutions for data analytics and information processing, energy-efficient computing, data-driven compressive sensing, hardware-friendly machine learning

Renfengbo@asu.edu
(480) 727-5793
Tempe campus
Research website

Andrea Richa

Andrea Richa
Professor

Research interests
Self-organizing particle systems, programmable matter, bio-inspired algorithms, distributed computing and algorithms, theory of wireless communication, graph, randomized, and approximation algorithms, self-stabilizing overlay networks, combinatorial optimization, distributed resource allocation

Aricha@asu.edu
(480) 965-7555
Tempe campus, BYENG 440
Research website

Shanee Rogers

Shanee Rogers
Student Services Coordinator Associate

Focus
Polytechnic campus
ASU Online campus
Advising support staff

George Runger

George Runger
Professor

Research interests
Statistical learning, process control, data mining for massive, multivariate data sets

Runger@asu.edu
(480) 965-3193
Mayo Clinic, Samuel C. Johnson Research Bldg 13212 

Jorge Sefair

Jorge Sefair
Assistant Professor

Research interests
Network optimization, robust optimization, integer programming, applications of optimization in environment, public policy, urban planning, and finance

Jsefair@asu.edu
(480) 965-3190
Tempe campus, BYENG 330
Research website

Arunabha Sen

Arunabha Sen

Arunabha Sen
Professor

Research interests
Resource optimization in optical, wireless and sensor networks, video transmission over mobile ad-hoc networks, network processors, system/network on chip design, combinatorial optimization, algorithm design and analysis

Asen@asu.edu
(480) 965-6153
Tempe campus, BYENG 530
Research website

Dan Shunk

Dan Shunk
Professor Emeritus

Research interests
Agile, enterprise and CIM systems, group technology, planning systems, economics of computer-integrated manufacturing (CIM) strategy and strategic role of technology

Dan.Shunk@asu.edu
(480) 965-6330
Tempe campus, BYENG 360

Yvette Smith

Yvette Smith
Academic Success Advisor Coordinator Sr.

Focus
Polytechnic campus
ASU Online
Undergraduate advising

Violet Syrotiuk

Violet Syrotiuk
Associate Professor

Research interests
Cross-layer design and optimization in changing network conditions, modeling and monitoring, medium access control protocols, multi-hop wireless networks including MANETs, WSNs, WMNs, and cognitive radio networks

syrotiuk@asu.edu
(480) 965-7034
Tempe campus, BYENG 434
Research website

Kurt VanLehn

Kurt VanLehn
Professor, The Diane and Gary Tooker Chair for Effective Education in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math, Associate Director

Research interests
Applications of AI to education (Intelligent Tutoring Systems, teachable agents, tutorial NL dialogue systems), human learning (student modeling; cognitive modeling), cognitive science

Kurt.Vanlehn@asu.edu
(480) 727-6348
Tempe campus, BYENG M1-01
Research website

Carole-Jean Wu

Carole-Jean Wu
Associate Professor

Research interests
Energy-efficient heterogeneous architecture, energy harvesting for emerging computing devices, performance characterization, analysis and prediction, high-performance and power-efficient LLC designs

Carole-jean.Wu@asu.edu
(480) 965-1494
Tempe campus, CTRPT 203-09
Research website

Guoliang Xue

Guoliang Xue
Professor

Research interests
Survivability and security in smart grid, privacy and security in mobile social networks, economic approaches to network applications

Xue@asu.edu
(480) 965-6218
Tempe campus, BYENG 442
Research website

Hao Yan

Hao Yan
Assistant Professor

Research interests
Real time modeling and analysis with large scale high dimensional data, data fusion for modeling of complex systems, and smart adaptive sampling strategy and data reconstruction

HaoYan@asu.edu
Tempe campus, BYENG 338
Research website

Stephen Yau

Stephen Yau
Professor

Research interests
Trust management and security, software engineering, distributed systems, service based systems, ubiquitous/pervasive computing

Yau@asu.edu
(480) 965-2647
Tempe campus, BYENG 488

Nong Ye

Nong Ye
Professor
Program Chair, Industrial Engineering and Engineering Management

Research interests
Information and systems assurance, data mining and modeling, quality optimization and control of system operations

Nongye@asu.edu
(480) 965-7812
Tempe campus, BYENG 482
Research website

Yu Zhang

Yu Zhang
Assistant Professor

Research interests
Multi-agent systems, human-aware planning, multi-agent planning, automated planning and scheduling, distributed robot systems, human-robot interaction

Yu.Zhang.442@asu.edu
Tempe campus, BYENG 594
Research website

Ming Zhao

Ming Zhao
Associate Professor

Research interests
Distributed/cloud computing, big data, high-performance computing, autonomic computing, virtualization, storage systems, operating systems

Mingzhao@asu.edu
(480) 727-7850
Tempe campus, BYENG 412
Research website

Jia Zou

Jia Zou
Assistant Professor

Research interests
Data-intensive distributed systems, machine learning systems, blockchain, development of dynamic applications

Jia.Zou@asu.edu
Tempe campus